Presentation night at Brynhill Golf Club

Presentation night at Brynhill Golf Club

After a successful golfing season , presentation night at Brynhill Golf Club on 7th November was a glittering affair. The glass and silverware trophies and cups  were cleaned and polished  and put on display ready to be presented to the worthy winners .

The President presented club ties to the Mail on Sunday team and wished them very good luck for their finals in Spain.

.List of winners as follows:

Chris Smith Cup winner – Scott Nelson  R/u – Dan Peters

Bristol Cup winners – Richard Pierce & Andrew Davies   R/u – Daniel Williams & Nathan Clissold

Ernest Williams Cup winner – Craig Balchin  R/u – Wayne Adams

George Williams Cup winner – Bradley Dodd  R/u – Chris Evans

Gunners Cup winners – Simmon Pringle & Chris James  R/u -Michael Murray & Nigel Stephenson

Sir Robert Webber Cup winners – Gemma Evans & Andy Chick  R/u – Liz Taylor & Glenn Taylor

Harry Cocks Cup winner – Tony Thomas  R/u – Scott Warne

Porth Cup winner -Colin Lewis  R/u – Gary Pudge

Bobe Hope Trophy winner – Doug Griggs R/u – Steve Gould  Best gross – Scott Warne

Tennessee Cup

Rabbits & Tigers winners – Steve Wright, Andy Hilton, Peter Curtis & Glyn Coles  R/u – Nigel Stephenson, Stuart Robertson, John Kirkpatrick & Lee Jones

Queens Coronation Cup winner – Simmon Pringle  R/u – Lee Price

Victory Trophy winner – Glyn Coles  R/u – Ben Collins

Seniors Championship Winner – John Kirkpatrick  R/u – Chris White

Hugh Howells Cup winner – Anne Phillips & John Griffiths  R/u Andrea Page & Stephen Davies

Artillery Cup  winner – Matthew Thomas & Carl Williams  R/u – Simmon Pringle  & Jamie Griffiths.

McEnroe Cup  winner – Mike Cook  R/u – Aaron Smith

Major Cope Cup  winner – Goronwy Jones  R/u – Doug Griggs

Holme Towers Cup  winner – Scott Nelson  R/u – Lee Jones  Best Gross – Scott Bowman

Junior Gold Cup  winners – Scott Bowman & Scott Warne  R/u – Jonathan Burrowsa & Craig Balchin

Don ( The Fox) Cup winner – Chris Phillips  R/u – Scott Warne  Best gross – Scott Warne

Dave Bruce Cup winner – Dave Morris  R/u – Aaron Smith  Best gross – Aaron Smith

Champagne Breakfast winner – Steve Jones & Bob Bounds R/u – Lee Price & Simon Bowsher

Marcus Watt (nett) Cup  winner – Glenn Taylor  R/u – Andrew Anstee

Ken Murphy (Gross)Cup winner – Scott Nelson

Brian Whitehouse Cup  winner – Gareth Jones  R/u – Aaron Smith

Presidents Cup  winner – Daniel Williams  R/u – Richard Pierce

Caledonian Cup  winner  – Lee Jones & Chris Evans  R/u  – Nathan Clissold & Daniel Williams

Kenyon Davies Cup  winners – Lee Jones & Cael Penberthey  R/u – Simon Bowsher & Peter Incledon

Barryn & District News Cup  winners – Michael Murray & Andy Chick  R/u – Simmon Pringle & Colin Lewis

John Collins Foundation Cup winner – Julian Hopkins  R/u – Scott Nelson

Consolation Trophy  winner – Richard Bond  R/u  – Anthony Day  Best gross – Richard Bond

Victor Ludorum  winner – Scott Nelson



The men’s 1st team this year had an indifferent season for the first season in the premier league in nearly 20 years, but they struggled to get a settled team.This resulted in them finishing 5th out of six in the league and unfortunately getting relegated. However Brynhill 1st team was still the 5th best team in South Wales this season !!!!

The 1st team also qualified for the Welsh team championships finals held at Glamorganshire in August, where they reached the last 16 in Wales.

The 2nd team continued their winning ways and climb up the league tables by getting promoted this season for the second consecutive season. Congratulations to Sam Preston and his team.

Finally and by far the best achievement came in the Mail on Sunday competition. This team consisted of 1st and 2nd team players.

The Mail on Sunday competition was an inter club knockout open to every golf club in the UK. The first round was in January and 9 rounds later Brynhill Have qualified to play in the finals in Spain at the end of November. 3000 teams entered the competition and we are now down to the last 4 teams. This is the first time Brynhill has ever won through to the finals in this competition and the only Welsh team to have got through to the finals this year.