History of Brynhill Golf Club
Brynhill as it exists today began its life at Barry YMCA on Wednesday 9th February 1921. A meeting was held under the chairmanship of Mr R.Fletcher to explore the possibilities of acquiring land for the purpose of forming a Golf club in Barry.
Those were the days
A site was considered suitable and an agreement was reached with the tenant farmer to rent his land at £3.00 per year on condition that he could graze his sheep on it. This must have made teeing off at the 9th a little difficult! On the 7th March 1921 pro golfer Mr Ted Ray was contracted to peg out the greens and tees, for which he was paid £10.00. The founder members (pictured right) did much of the construction work, removing stones and building greens and tees. A portable shed was borrowed from Barry Docks to use as a clubhouse and this was placed close to the site of the current clubhouse. The club employed its first professional, Mr David Rees, father of the famous D.J. (Dai) Rees and on Saturday 28th May 1921. The course was officially opened by the President of the Club, Major William Cope M.P., “driving in”. This was followed by a foursomes match between the Club Captain and Mr David Rees against two golfers from Dinas Powys. The event was filmed by the manager of the Theatre Royal, Barry and later shown at the Cinema. Possibly the first time that golf had been seen on screen in Wales!
During the time when the course was being constructed work was also taking place on the development of a clubhouse. Two 1st World War army huts were purchased and transported from Salisbury Plain to Barry. By the time the huts were redesigned and furnished the cost of the work had reached £2,000, a considerable sum in those days. The clubhouse was opened on 12th November 1921 and by that time a 9 hole course had been constructed and a round of 18 holes measured 6,300 yards. In October 1984 a new Clubhouse was opened. Brynhill was fortunate in having the one and only Bob Hope to declare the Clubhouse open. Bob had come to Barry to reacquaint himself with his family home and he kindly agreed to visit the Golf Club – a very memorable day. An extra 65 acres of land adjoining the course was purchased and work started on a new course development in April 1994. Golf Course Design Consultants, DaveThomas Ltd were contracted to design the course. The course was finally completed in the summer of 1998 and is now the challenging test of golf skills it is today. Today Brynhill can proudly boast an exciting Golf Course and a modern Clubhouse with facilities for Men, Ladies and Juniors.